AgriLife Extension family and consumer sciences agents recognized

AgriLife Extension family and consumer sciences agents recognized

WEATHERFORD – Texas AgriLife Extension Service family and consumer sciences agents from across the state were recognized on July 29 with awards at the 66th annual conference of the Texas Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences in Weatherford.

Three agents were presented with the Distinguished Service Award, the highest award a county family and consumer sciences agent can receive from the National Extension Association of Family and Consumer Sciences, said Wendi Green, first vice president and awards chairman of the Texas association and AgriLife Extension agent in Cherokee County.

Each recipient is selected by peers based upon their leadership, educational program efforts and professional development, Green said.

Distinguished Service Award winners and accomplishments recognized at the annual meeting were:

– Marsha Blair, Hockley County, exemplary family and consumer sciences programming in diabetes education, food safety and childhood obesity.

– Wendi Green, quality educational programs to diverse audiences through AgriLife Extension in both Freestone and Cherokee counties.

– Julie Smith, Borden County, programming on rural health and wellness, such as nutrition, disease prevention and lifestyle changes, due to lacking health care services in the county she serves.

Other national and state association awards presented at the annual meeting include:

(National) Professional Development:

Continued Excellence – Kathlene Aycock, Tom Green County; Johanna Hicks, Hopkins County; and Linda Mock, Montgomery County.

Florence Hall Award – (team) Sheryl Austin, Bell County; Paula Butler, Navarro County; Colleen Longbotham, Limestone County; Linda Russell, McLennan County; Karen Kuhlwein-Jungman, Hill County; and volunteers, Joleen Eiklenborg, Frances Cabiness, Larry Lynch, Suzy Weems.

Past President’s New Professional Award – Denita Young, Rains County.


Educational Curriculum – Rusty Hohlt, Nueces County.

Educational Publication – Rusty Hohlt.

Education Technology – Johanna Hicks.

Newsletters – Alexis Cordova, Liberty County.

Press Release – Joyce White, Grayson County.

Television – Angela Fiedler, Kendall County.

Internet Technology – Lexie McGrane. Dallas County.

Public Relations:

Community Partnership – (team) Julie Gardner, Coryell County, and volunteers – Becky Coward, Tracye Stovall and Deena Bone.

Marketing Package – Johanna Hicks.

Program Development:

Environmental Education – Lexie McGrane, Dallas County.

Food Safety Award – Marsha Blair, Hockley County; Shirley Sears, Cochran County; Mandy Seaton, Lamb County.

2010 National & Southern Region Award Winners:

Communication-Newsletters – Southern Region winner, Alexis Cordova.

Communication-Educational Technology – 2. (National and Southern Region) Johanna Hicks.

(State) Special:

Excellence in Community Development – Jennifer Trufan, Wilbarger County.

County Judges and Commissioners Award – Palo Pinto County Commissioner’s Court.

Extension Support Staff – Johnnie Kelley, Parker County.

Friend of Extension – Dr. Richard Sale, assistant professor at Tarleton State University in Stephenville and AgriLife Extension specialist-family development and resource management.

Extension Specialist Award – Dr. Carol Rice, College Station; Dr. Mickey Bielamowicz, College Station.

Woman of the Year – Ola Culwell, Parker County.

Educator of the Year – Sandra Fry, Fort Bend County.

Ann Sonner Scholarship – Madeline Fangman, Oldham County.


<a href="”>Powered by wizardrss | <a href="”>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>